nti_article_06

Nanotechnology Commercialization Group

As a single repository for university nanotechnology intellectual property, the Nanotechnology Commercialization Group (NCG) confers a valuable marketing advantage to all technologies in its pool.

Not only is it the ideal starting place for companies searching for licensable technology, the NCG also enables university researchers to more easily find a path to commercialization of their research efforts.

According to an agreement between Drexel University, the University of Pennsylvania and BFTP/SEP, the NCG operates as an administrative unit of and is located within the University of Pennsylvania’s Commercial Development Office.

Staffed with two Penn employees and one Drexel employee, each with nanotechnology expertise, the NCG, together with support from BFTP/SEP, provides the following services for all university members of the NTI:

  • Evaluating commercial potential
  • Developing commercialization strategies
  • Marketing
  • Negotiating licenses
  • Facilitating the formation of start-up companies

NCG Administration

Anthony Green, Ph.D.
Ben Franklin Director, NTI
Vice President of Technology Commercialization: Life Sciences, BFTP/SEP
anthony@sep.benfranklin.org
(215) 972-6700 x3713

Erli Chen, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania
Director, Nanotechnology Commercialization Group
chen@ctt.upenn.edu
(215) 898-9272

Philip Caldwell, Ph.D.
Associate Director, Technology Licensing
Representative, Nanotechnology Commercialization Group
Drexel University, Technology Commercialization
pcaldwell@drexel.edu
(215) 895-0999

Shilpa Bhansali
Assistant Director, Nanotechnology Licensing
Center for Technology Transfer
University of Pennsylvania
sbhansali@ctt.upenn.edu
(215) 573-4307

Vijay Iyer, Ph.D.
Licensing Associate
Office of Technology Transfer
Temple University
vijay.iyer@temple.edu
(215) 204-7619

Greg Baker, Ph.D.
Associate Director, Commercialization
Technology Transfer Office
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
bakerg@email.chop.edu
(215) 590-5645

NTI: Signs of Success

NTI research programs have been extremely successful at publishing in peer-reviewed journals, resulting in more than 820 articles.

In addition, NTI researchers have been awarded more than 200 federal grants totaling more than $150 million.

adult dating in Philadelphia, USA